Australia Team Announced for Third Test

Australia Team Announced for Third Test

Australia have recalled veteran flanker George Smith to their side, to face the British & Irish Lions in the deciding third Test this Saturday. 

Having made his last Test appearance for the Wallabies in 2009 and then retired from international rugby the following year, the 32 year old made 110 appearances in the gold and green jersey.

With Smith in, this means Michael Hooper drops to the bench whilst Liam Gill and Rob Horne miss out altogether.

Don’t miss out on the action as the third Test between Australia and the British & Irish Lions kicks off at 11:00 BST this Saturday.


Australia team: Kurtley Beale (Melbourne Rebels), Israel Folau (NSW), Adam Ashley-Cooper (NSW), Christian Leali’ifano (ACT Brumbies), Joe Tomane (Brumbies), James O’Connor (Melbourne Rebels), Will Genia (Reds); Benn Robinson (NSW), Stephen Moore (ACT), Ben Alexander (ACT), James Horwill (Reds – capt), Kane Douglas (NSW), Ben Mowen (ACT), George Smith (Brumbies), Wycliff Palu (NSW).

Replacements: Saia Fainga’a (Reds), James Slipper (Reds), Sekope Kepu (NSW), Rob Simmons (Reds), Ben McCalman (Western Force), Michael Hooper (NSW), Nick Phipps (Rebels), Jesse Mogg (Brumbies).

Show off your support for the Wallabies with the Australia rugby shirt available from Lovell Rugby, the world’s largest online rugby store.