Crusaders Defeat Waratahs Wearing Special Pike River Commemorative Shirt

The Crusaders posted their first win of the 2011 Super Rugby season with a comprehensive 33-18 victory over the Waratahs in Nelson on Friday. 

The Crusaders were wearing a Special hooped shirt in Mark of The Pike River Mining Disaster on the 19th of November last year. The shirts were only made for the players and were being auctioned off after the match to raise money for the respective charities. The shirts have the names of the 29 Minors who lost their lives on the embossed on the front of the Shirt.

There hasn’t been much to smile about in New Zealand over the past fortnight – in Christchurch especially – but the Crusaders brought some much-needed cheer after sweeping past the in-form Waratahs.


A consolation try from the Australians made the final scoreline look a bit more respectable, but this game belonged to the seven-time Super Rugby champs who didn’t disappoint their fans at a sold-out Trafalgar Park. The Crusaders have been forced to play most of their Super 15 Games away from their AMI Stadium home, after the Stadium was damaged in the recent tragic Quake.


Emotion was always going to play a big part for the Crusaders, and it was accompanied by sound tactics, defensive solidity, precision on attack and a flawless kicking display by Dan Carter (Wearing His Adidas Predator RX Boots).

Sonny Bill Williams (Wearing His Adidas AdiZero RS7 Rugby Boots) and Centre Partner Robbie Fruean, Weighing in at a combined weight of over 220Kg looked highly explosive in attack and surely something for Graham Henry to think about with the World Cup Looming. The loss for the Waratahs is their first of the season and they will be looking to bounce staright back against the Cheetahs in thir next game in two weeks.

The scorers:  

For Crusaders:
Tries: Fruean 2, Williams
Cons: Carter 3
Pens: Carter 4

For Waratahs:
Tries: Carter, Burgess, Pakalani
Pen: Beale

Crusaders: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Robbie Fruean, 12 Sonny Bill Williams,11 Adam Whitelock, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Kieran Read (c), 7 Matt Todd, 6 George Whitelock, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Wyatt Crockett.
Replacements: 16 Quentin MacDonald, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Chris Jack, 19 Jonathan Poff, 20 Willi Heinz, 21 Matt Berquist, 22 Tom Marshall.

Waratahs: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Lachie Turner, 13 Rob Horne, 12 Tom Carter, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Daniel Halangahu, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Ben Mowen, 7 Phil Waugh (c), 6 Dave Dennis, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Al Baxter, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Sekope Kepu.
Replacements: 16 Damien Fitzpatrick, 17 Benn Robinson, 18 Sitaleki Timani, 19 Pat McCutcheon, 20 Brendan McKibbin, 21 Ryan Cross, 22 Afa Pakalani.

Referee: Chris Pollock (New Zealand)