Johnson Names His 44 for England’s Summer Tour

England manager Martin Johnson has included nine uncapped players in an expanded squad for the team’s tour of Australia and New Zealand.

Olly Barkley (who wears Adidas Adi Pure 3 Rugby Boots), who won the last of his 23 caps against the All Blacks in 2008, has also been picked by Johnson for the first time after playing an integral role in Bath’s march to the Guinness Premiership semi-finals.

England will be without locks Steve Borthwick and Louis Deacon, centre Riki Flutey and scrum-half Paul Hodgson for the five-match trip.

Tom Rees will continue his return from shoulder surgery at the Churchill Cup with the Saxons while veteran prop Phil Vickery has been given the summer off.

Lewis Moody, who replaced Borthwick as captain for the Six Nations game against France, is set to continue in the role.

In the absence of those senior players, Johnson has rewarded Premiership form with recalls for Barkley, Bath prop Dave Flatman and Sale fly-half Charlie Hodgson.

Gloucester lock Dave Attwood and Leicester second row Geoff Parling have both received their first senior calls and been given a prime opportunity to stake a claim for 2011 World Cup selection.

Highly-rated Newcastle prop Jon Golding has been included along with uncapped Leeds flanker Hendrie Fourie and Wasps hooker Rob Webber.

Wasps centre Dom Waldouck, an unused tourist with England in 2008, has also been rewarded after an outstanding season along with club-mate Joe Simpson.

Dan Ward-Smith and Shontayne Hape were both members of England’s senior squad for the Six Nations but will travel Down Under chasing their first Test caps.

Saracens-bound winger Dave Strettle (Who wears Nike Superfly Rugby Boots) is also back in the frame along with Gloucester prop Paul Doran-Jones, who made his Test debut in the autumn when England were suffering a front-row injury crisis.

England play the Australian Barbarians ahead of both Tests against the Wallabies before travelling to Napier to face the New Zealand Maori.

England Squad:

Backs: Delon Armitage (London Irish), Chris Ashton (Northampton), Matt Banahan (Bath), Olly Barkley (Bath), Danny Care (Harlequins), Mark Cueto (Sale Sharks), Toby Flood (Leicester), Ben Foden (Northampton), Shane Geraghty (Northampton), Shontayne Hape (Bath), Charlie Hodgson (Sale Sharks), Ugo Monye (Harlequins), Joe Simpson (Wasps), David Strettle (Harlequins), Mathew Tait (Sale Sharks), Mike Tindall (Gloucester), Dom Waldouck (Wasps), Richard Wigglesworth (Sale Sharks), Jonny Wilkinson (Toulon), Ben Youngs (Leicester).

Forwards: Steffon Armitage (London Irish), Dave Attwood (Gloucester), Dan Cole (Leicester), Tom Croft (Leicester), Paul Doran-Jones (Gloucester), Nick Easter (Harlequins), David Flatman (Bath), Hendrie Fourie (Leeds Carnegie), Jon Golding (Newcastle), Dylan Hartley (Northampton), James Haskell (Stade Francais), Courtney Lawes (Northampton), Lee Mears (Bath), Lewis Moody (Leicester), Tom Palmer (Stade Francais), Geoff Parling (Leicester), Tim Payne (Wasps), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), Simon Shaw (Wasps), Steve Thompson (Brive), Dan Ward-Smith (Wasps), Rob Webber (Wasps), Dave Wilson (Bath), Joe Worsley (Wasps).